After you've sustained an injury on the job, you may be considering filing for workers' compensation to cover medical expenses. Whether your claim is approved largely depends on how long you wait to report the workplace injury. Here's a closer look at the statutes of limitations in Virginia and how to complete the claims process.
How Long Do You Have to File for Workers' Compensation?
Waiting to file a workers' compensation claim is a costly mistake. If denied coverage, you'll have to pay out-of-pocket for rehabilitation, transportation, and other costs related to your temporary or permanent injury. In Virginia, you have 30 days to report the accident to your employer from the date it happened.
In addition to alerting your employer immediately, don't delay in seeing a doctor. Their medical report is valuable evidence to support your claim and determine how much you're owed in compensation.
If your doctor concludes you have a workplace injury, you must report it to your boss within 30 days of the exam. After notifying them, they have 10 days to report the injury to the Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission.
You then have two years to file a claim with the Commission. You must also attend depositions and the insurance provider's independent medical exam as part of the process to get the claim approved.
How Can the Claimed Be Filed?
There are various ways to get the claim to the Commission. You can download the paperwork online and bring the completed forms to one of the state's seven Commission offices. Bring photo identification, as you might be asked to show it to enter.
The form can also be mailed to the central office in Richmond or faxed to (804) 823-6956. A claim can also be filed online using the Jurisdiction Claim Number (JCN) and PIN given to you by the Commission to set up an account.
To file for workers' compensation, contact Armentrout Accident & Injury Law LLC in Harrisonburg, VA. With over 32 years of experience serving Virginia clients, the attorneys will gather documents and help you prepare for hearings to receive as much compensation as possible. Learn more about the firm's practice areas online, or call (540) 564-1466 to schedule a consultation.